Sugary Delights at Baskin Robbins

Prior to the fancy schmancy, gourmet, custom-mixed dairy desserts came into play, Baskin Robbins was the ultimate sweet treat when I was a kid. And if I was blessed with an ice cream CAKE from this heaven of heavens for a birthday celebration? Fuhgehtabouddit! Life was absolute perfection, just waiting for me within the freezer. Bliss, I tell you. Pure bliss.

I do not see Baskin Robbins locations in abundance the way I used to. Don’t get me wrong; I adore me my Ben and Jerry’s and non-chain dessert spots, but the BK just takes me back to great ole times when the biggest worry I had was dripping my Gold Medal Ribbon onto my new overalls. (The trick was to lick the bottom of the scoop(s) and to do it quickly!) Needless to say, I was delighted when I saw the pink neon shining proudly on its corner in Woodley Park! I can’t hate on my Baskin Robbins.

Sadly, in my non-adolescent metabolic state, I now have to turn to the lowfat Espresso ‘n Cream more often than not. Lucky for me, it does not taste like it is lowfat – if you haven’t tried it yet, it is much better than you’d think! Some thing tells me, nevertheless, that “lowfat” does not really mean I’m allowed to eat three scoops five nights a week.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment